Children’s Stories

Favorite novels, plays, comics, etc.
SnowRayjah

Children’s Stories

Post by SnowRayjah »

As an elementary school teacher, I find that I get to read/hear a lot of story books. I really love it! I started thinking about how children’s stories and all the reading I did as a child probably made me the reader I am today. I even have a dream of publishing some children’s stories at some point in my life. I’m particularly fond of rhymes and anything with cooperative sisters! I’ve read Dancing Dinos go to School six or seven times this year (in the last few months no less)! And I have plans of reading The Very Hungry Caterpillar in Japanese to two kindergarten classes. What we’re going to do is read the English version several times throughout the year, and then I’ll read the Japanese version and have the kids translate it. My mentors are really excited about the prospect! It’ll be a fun way to check for reading comprehension too. It should be pretty easy since the kids will be very familiar with the story.

I really enjoy stories that teach children about rules, trying their best, and understanding that sometimes things don't go as planned but that it's all good. They can still make the best of it! Library Lion in particular is a story about rules and how there are appropriate times to break rules. This can be very important because I've run into some children that are real sticklers for the rules can become easily conflicted. It's nice to have an example that students can relate too. In Library Lion's case his friend was hurt. You should read it, it's adorable and I find the art to be very soft. PLUS, it has a lion IN the library. Cool, right?!